The Kuskokwim Educational Foundation (KEF) was established to support The Kuskokwim Corporation (TKC) Shareholders, descendants and individuals with ties to the Kuskokwim region in 1981. The Kuskokwim region is defined as the villages of Lower Kalskag, Upper Kalskag, Aniak, Chuathbaluk, Napaimute, Crooked Creek, Georgetown, Red Devil, Sleetmute and Stony River. TKC Shareholders currently reside in the region, as well as throughout Alaska and the lower 48.

The educational assistance though KEF is designed to help students obtain tools, knowledge and skills. In 2017, the KEF Board of Directors narrowed the scope to only serve Shareholders, as TKC continues to grow the number of Shareholders by enrolling descendants. The foundation is administered by TKC and governed by the KEF Board of Directors.

The KEF scholarship program is designed to provide financial assistance to post-secondary and vocational students; potential recipients are TKC Shareholders who meet additional criteria approved by the Board of Directors. All efforts to distribute scholarships in a fair and equitable manner based on criteria will be adhered to.

History of KEF

The Kuskokwim Educational Foundation received its Articles of Incorporation on May 19, 1981. Glenn Fredericks, Nick Mellick, Jr., Helen Fredericks, Lewis Vanderpool, Leo Morgan, and George Morgan, Jr. were the 6 original board members.

Glen “Tiny” Fredericks
Nick Mellick JR
Helen Fredericks
Lewis Vanderpool
Leo Morgan
George Morgan JR.